April 2023 Meeting Minutes


                                                                   March 13, 2023 (unapproved)

LOCATION:    Prairie Activity & Recreation Center (PARC) – Plainfield Ellyn Park District

PROGRAM:     The PARC is the first recreation center in Illinois with a Net-Zero certification, which means it creates as much energy as it uses.  Executive Director Carlo Capablo and former Director of Planning Jennifer Rooks-Lopez discussed the benefits and challenges of building and operating this facility.  Members toured the facility following the presentation.

BUSINESS MEETING:      President Derek Solberg called the meeting to order at 12:35 P.M.  Approximately 52 members and guests were present.  Guests were introduced.   Derek thanked the speakers for their presentations and Ken McEwan and the Plainfield Park District for hosting.

REPORTS:       Minutes – Approved for March, 2023.

                       Treasurer’s Report for March was approved.


                        Director Ken Kerfoot introduced the following new member:

                        Casey Lawler, Park District of Highland Park

Casey was accepted into membership. Welcome!

PROGRAM:     Director Noah Mach announced the May meeting will be held at the Park District of Highland Park and involve GIS and its use in a park district environment.  Noah reported the June joint meeting with the IPRA Park Section in Oak Brook, and the joint July meeting with ILSTMA to be held at Halas Hall in Lake Forest.

GOLF OUTING:  No update.


                        President Solberg Reinders for sponsoring the April mailing.

ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM GENERAL MEMBERSHIP:     Colleen McCarty announced an opening for a Facilities Maintenance and Project Supervisor for the Oswegoland Park District

The fund raiser was held.

President Solberg adjourned the meeting at 12:40 PM.

MIPE Announcements

The June 8, 2023 MIPE meeting will be at Central Park West, Oak Brook Park District. This is a joint meeting with MIPE and the IPRA Parks and Natural Resources Management Section. Details are posted. Registration is taking place ONLY through the IPRA website. 

John Ohrlund

Executive Secretary